Reading: Stack of Decorating Books

This Post May Contain Affiliate Links. Please Read my Disclosure Policy.

Today I have something every decorating enthusiast enjoys…. decorating books.

Stack of interior decorating books. Text says 10 Decorating Books not to miss.

This time of year is also when new decorating books get published.

Both of these books just came out this week.

Newly Released Decorating Books

Home Made LovelyCreating the Home You Always Wanted – By Shannon Acheson.

You may be familiar with her blog of the same name. Home Made Lovely is a mind-set: decorating should be about those who live there, rather than making your home into a magazine-worthy spread. Lots of photos and many do-able ideas.

Welcome Home – Drawing from the cozy-minimalist principles in Cozy Minimalist Home, Myquillyn Smith known as The Nester will help you create a home that’s fresh, meaningful, beautiful, and always ready to host. With engaging how-tos and inspiring photos, she guides you step by step through purposeful design decisions to cultivate a space where loved ones gather, meaningful connections are celebrated, and lasting memories are made.

Decorating Books in the Stack

Love the House You’re In 40 Ways to Improve Your Home and Change Your Life – By Paige Rein

When you start decorating your home with you as the starting point, you can create a highly personalized space that reflects your past, your future, and how you want to live today. In the process, you’ll gain the confidence and inspi­ration to come up with a functional and fabulous living space that’s just right for you and your life.

The Art of Flaneuring – By Erika Owen

This isn’t really a decorating book, more like a fun and practical guide to cultivating a more mindful and fulfilling everyday life by tapping into your inner flaneur—perfect for fans of Marie Kondo and The Little Book of Hygge.

Happy Starts at Home Change your space, transform your life – By Rebecca West

This book was published in 2020.

What does it take to be happy at home? It’s not about buying or not buying a new couch. It’s about whether your home is working for you in the best way. Your home can directly improve your well-being and contentment with better health, sleep, and relationships, and ultimately decrease your stress levels to increase your all-round happiness. Design expert Rebecca West helps you to learn how to achieve a geographical cure without actually relocating and how to redecorate so you can feel best in your space.

Restoration House Restoration House: Creating a Space That Gives Life and Connection to All Who Enter – By Kennesha Buycks 

You don’t have to live in your dream house to make your living spaces feel more like home. Home is meant to be a place to belong. A place to gather and connect. A place of beauty. A place to restore your soul. In Restoration House, designer Kennesha Buycks will encourage you to embrace your home and your story so you can create mindful spaces that give life to you, your loved ones, and all who enter.

Elements of Style – By Erin Gates.

Erin combines honest design advice and gorgeous professional photographs and illustrations with personal essays about the lessons she has learned while designing her own home and her own life—the first being: none of our homes or lives is perfect.

Organized by rooms in the house, Elements of Style invites readers into Erin’s own home as well as homes she has designed for clients.

Funny thing this book has been out for a number of years now. Yesterday Erin posted on her blog of the same name as the book that the book has had a resurgence in sales and sold much better than her second book.

The DIY Style Finder – Discover Your Unique Style and Decorate It Yourself – By KariAnne Wood

Decorating is about the colors, textures, and patterns that make your heart sing. It’s about the creative ideas you can’t wait to try in your own home. It’s about finding your one-of-a-kind style and then just going for it. And KariAnne of Thistlewood Farms is here to help you.
 
Featuring her home and those of four of her blogger friends, KariAnne takes you on a tour representing five major design styles—Farmhouse, Traditional, Coastal, Transitional, and Contemporary.

Country Living American Style Decorate * Create * Celebrate

Country Living celebrates all-American design from sea to shining sea: quaint New England towns, dusty Texas ranches, woodsy log cabins, and Main Street, Anywhere, USA. Here are our country’s most beloved styles on vivid display—its architecture, ornaments, textiles, and other more humble items—along with secrets for recreating this inviting look at home and mixing up the old and the new.

Keep It SimpleA Guide to a Happy, Relaxed Home – By Atlanta Bartlett

In Keep It Simple, Atlanta Bartlett and Dave Coote present a practical and inspirational guide to create a happy and relaxed home that works perfectly for everyone who lives in it. They start at the beginning, explaining the key elements at the heart of their unique decorating philosophy, The Simple Mindset, which appreciates good, honest design, values quality not quantity, and advocates rediscovering the simple pleasures in life.

You May Also Like:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

255 Comments

  1. My favorite room to decorate would be my living room. This is the room most seen by visitors and I love to change the pillows, throws and decorative things with the seasons. I want it to be pretty, but comfortable and welcoming.
    Thank you for this wonderful and thoughtful give-away!

  2. I love changing up my family room and kitchen especially for the seasons. Always looking for ideas to trade things out. Thanks for your wonderful ideas. ~April

  3. My favorite room to decorate is the living room since that is the room we spend the most (awake) time in. :-)